## Sherman Prize Recipients Honored in New York City

Screening of Short Documentaries Shared Recipients' Stories of Leadership and Dedication in Advancing Treatment of Crohn's Disease and Ulcerative Colitis

NEW YORK, September 16, 2017 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation honored Stephan R. Targan, MD; Lee A. Denson, MD; and Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C as the recipients of the 2017 Sherman Prizes, in New York City last night.

Together with leaders in inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) research and advocacy and recipients' family and friends, the Sherman family and members of the Sherman Prize Selection Committee celebrated the achievements of this year's Sherman Prize recipients:

- Dr. Stephan R. Targan, Director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars-Sinai, was presented with a \$100,000 Sherman Prize for his work driving new paradigms in IBD research, leading major treatment breakthroughs and mentoring hundreds of physicians around the world who are emerging as leaders in the field of IBD.
- Dr. Lee A. Denson, Director of the Schubert-Martin IBD Center at the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, was presented with a \$100,000 Sherman Prize for his achievements in significantly improving pediatric remission rates and leading research to identify underlying IBD causes and potential therapies.
- **Ms. Heidi Drescher**, MMS, PA-C, of the Community Physician Group, Community Medical Center in Missoula, Montana, was presented with the \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for her relentless dedication to ensuring her rural, underserved patients benefit from best practices in IBD care.

Short documentaries, sharing the inspiring and heart-warming stories behind the journey of each Sherman Prize recipient, were screened at the event and may be viewed at www.ShermanPrize.org.

"Drs. Targan and Denson and Ms. Drescher go to work each day with a singular focus, helping people with Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis live a better life," said Bruce Sherman. "It was an honor for my family and I to celebrate these outstanding healthcare professionals for their dedication, perseverance and unflagging advocacy on behalf of people living with IBD. I hope our recognition of their achievements inspires others working in the field of IBD to pursue similar paths toward excellence in Crohn's and colitis research, advocacy and care."

Dr. David Rubin, the Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and Chief of the Section of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition at The University of Chicago Medicine added, "These

Sherman Prize recipients are individually outstanding, but together reflect a field of immensely dedicated scientists, physicians, nurses, physician assistants, psychologists, social workers, dietitians, and so many others who are contributing to the next paradigm shift in IBD science, quality care and access, as well as training and mentoring those who will come after them."

## About the Sherman Prize

The Sherman Prize was established in 2016 by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation to recognize and reward outstanding contributions by healthcare professionals, medical researchers, public health advocates and educators who are advancing patient care, medical research and public service in the field of Crohn's and colitis. Every year, two Sherman Prizes of \$100,000 each are awarded to individuals with extraordinary records of achievement addressing the challenges of IBD, and a \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an individual who demonstrates high potential. By consistently elevating excellent work in IBD and supporting future efforts, the Sherman Prize aims to inspire others through a ripple effect, as word of successes spreads from community to community. To learn more about the Sherman Prize and sign up for notification of the 2018 nomination period, please visit www.ShermanPrize.org.

Media Contact: Shannon Richardson, 202-997-1982