

## The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation Honors Sherman Prize Recipients at AIBD Conference and Announces Call for 2019 Nominations

Dr. Dermot P. B. McGovern of Cedars-Sinai is Named New Selection Committee Chair

NAPLES, Florida, December 17, 2018 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation presented the 2018 Sherman Prizes at the Advances in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (AIBD) Conference in Orlando, Florida. **Dr. David Binion** of the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and **Dr. Jean-Frédéric Colombel** of the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City were each honored with a \$100,000 Sherman Prize for their leadership and achievements in improving the care of people living with inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD). **Dr. Amy Lightner** of the Mayo Clinic was honored with a \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for her work in advancing minimally invasive surgical techniques.

"By celebrating the achievements of IBD pioneers, my wife, Cynthia, and I and our family aim to create a ripple effect with the Sherman Prize, inspiring ever greater advances in the treatment of Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis," said Bruce Sherman. "We appreciate HMP and Imedex giving us the opportunity to recognize the tremendous accomplishments of Drs. Binion, Colombel and Lightner in front of their peers at AIBD who are all focused on improving outcomes for people living with these diseases."

To learn more about the 2018 Sherman Prize recipients' unique contributions to improving IBD patient care, watch their inspiring stories at ShermanPrize.org.

## 2019 Nominations Now Being Accepted

Along with honoring this year's Sherman Prize recipients for the first time at a medical conference, the Foundation also announced the start of the 2019 Prize cycle, with nominations of outstanding IBD professionals being accepted today through February 8, 2019 at ShermanPrize.org. This year's nominees will be reviewed by a new Sherman Prize Selection Committee, with Dr. Dermot P.B. McGovern succeeding Dr. David T. Rubin as Committee Chair.

"Since we launched the Sherman Prize in 2016, Dr. Rubin has provided distinguished leadership and invaluable counsel in shaping the Prize program and helping to select outstanding recipients year after year. We are truly thankful for his years of service championing the achievements of his peers," Bruce Sherman said. "As we look ahead to 2019, we're excited to work with Dr. McGovern and his colleagues on the Selection Committee to identify and honor another esteemed group of inspiring and talented IBD professionals."

## About the Sherman Prize

The Sherman Prize is the first of its kind to recognize individuals for pioneering achievements in advancing patient care, medical research, public service and education on behalf of the more than three million Americans living with Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis.

Every year, two \$100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded to individuals with extraordinary track records of achievement transforming IBD care and inspiring tomorrow's innovators. A \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an individual making impressive contributions early in his or her career and demonstrating strong potential to make an even greater impact in the future. All prize recipients are featured in short videos that are designed to recognize their accomplishments and inspire others by highlighting groundbreaking work.

Sherman Prize honorees are selected by the Sherman Prize Board of Directors, with guidance from nationally renowned IBD researchers, clinicians and healthcare providers who comprise the Sherman Prize Selection Committee.

"Nominating a peer or colleague for the Sherman Prize is a wonderful way to honor their work," said Dr. Dermot P.B. McGovern, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and the Joshua L. and Lisa Z. Greer Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetics at Cedars-Sinai. "I encourage fellow IBD professionals to submit nominations for the 2019 Sherman Prizes so that exemplary achievement can continue to be elevated and serve as a source of inspiration to us all."

Serving on the Selection Committee in 2019 alongside Dr. McGovern are Dr. Lee Denson, Dr. Sunanda Kane, Dr. Corey Siegel and Dr. Eva Szigethy.

## **Sherman Prize Eligibility Guidelines**

To be eligible for the Sherman Prize, nominees must live and work in the United States, having accomplished their greatest achievements in the last decade, with greater emphasis placed on contributions in the last few years. Candidates can be nominated by colleagues, peers, educators, advocates — anyone who can attest to the candidate's qualifications. Self-nominations are not accepted. Individuals who were nominated in prior years can be nominated again – these submissions should include new, up-to-date information on the candidate's achievements.

Nominations for the 2019 Sherman Prizes will be accepted at ShermanPrize.org through midnight February 8, 2019, with recipients announced in the second half of the year.

Media Contact: Shannon Richardson, 202-997-1982, srichardsonllcva@gmail.com