

2019 Sherman Prize Recipients Honored at Advances in IBD Conference

NAPLES, Florida, December 12, 2019 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation presented the 2019 Sherman Prizes to three outstanding physician scientists at the Advances in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases Conference in Orlando, Florida. Recognizing outstanding achievements in the fight to overcome Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis, also known as the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), the Sherman Prizes were awarded to:

- Maria T. Abreu, MD, Professor of Medicine, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine; Director, Crohn's & Colitis Center, University of Miami Health System, Miami, FL, received a \$100,000 Sherman Prize for her work identifying an epidemic of IBD in Miami's Hispanic community; advancing novel research to understand environmental triggers for IBD and exploring ways to optimize treatment; and mentoring junior colleagues in advancing their own research.
- William J. Sandborn, MD, Chief, Division of Gastroenterology and Director, Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center, UC San Diego Health; Professor of Medicine, UC San Diego School of Medicine, San Diego, CA, received a \$100,000 Sherman Prize for his groundbreaking work in IBD clinical trial design that enabled a revolution in treatment that set the standard for clinical care; leading the development of innovative medicines to provide patients with much-needed options; and helping to establish holistic care models that have improved patient care and outcomes.
- Florian Rieder, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Inflammation and Immunity; Clinical Staff, Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH, received the \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for his key role in advancing the development of novel therapies to treat fibrostenosis, a common and potentially devastating complication of IBD.

To learn more about the 2019 Sherman Prize recipients' unique contributions to improving IBD patient care, watch their inspiring stories at <u>ShermanPrize.org</u>.

"We appreciate the opportunity to honor the Sherman Prize recipients at Advances in IBD, celebrating their achievements among their colleagues and peers," said Prize founder Bruce Sherman. "Drs. Abreu, Sandborn and Rieder are visionaries who share a deep commitment to addressing the unmet challenges of IBD and I look forward to more advances they are sure to make in the future."

The Sherman Prizes were presented to the honorees by members of the Sherman Prize Selection Committee. "It's an honor to be a part of the Sherman Prize and their mission to recognize those who give so much to improving the lives of people with IBD," said Dr. Dermot P.B. McGovern, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and the Joshua L. and Lisa Z. Greer Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetics at Cedars-Sinai. "It's wonderful to be able to share the inspiring stories of these outstanding IBD physician scientists and I encourage everyone in the IBD community to think about who they will nominate in the 2020 Sherman Prize cycle."

About the Sherman Prize

Every year, two \$100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded to individuals with extraordinary track records of achievement making exceptional and pioneering contributions, transforming IBD care and inspiring tomorrow's innovators. A \$25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an individual making impressive contributions early in his or her career and showing great promise for significant contributions in the future. Nominations for the 2019 Sherman Prizes will be accepted at ShermanPrize.org beginning in March 2020. To learn more and sign up for notification of the 2020 nomination period, please visit www.ShermanPrize.org.

Media Contact: Shannon Richardson, 202-997-1982, srichardsonllcva@gmail.com