March 11, 2024

2024 Sherman Prize Now Accepting Nominations

Honoring Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis


BOCA RATON, Florida, March 11, 2024 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation announced today that the Sherman Prize is now accepting nominations for 2024. Now in its ninth year, the Sherman Prize, which recognizes and rewards those who have gone above and beyond in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, also known as the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), has honored the outstanding achievements of 24 extraordinary IBD professionals.

“The Sherman Prize is the highest recognition of the talent and achievements in the field of IBD today,” said Dr. Maria T. Abreu, 2024 Selection Committee Chair and 2019 Sherman Prize Recipient. “Honoring the innovators who have devoted their careers to helping those who suffer from Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis elevates their work and inspires others to excel, which is why the Sherman Prize is so meaningful. This is a great opportunity for our colleagues to nominate outstanding individuals who are pushing the boundaries of treatment and care.”

All nominees are evaluated by the Sherman Prize Selection Committee. In 2024, Chair, Dr. Abreu is joined by:

  • Jessica Allegretti, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, 2020 Sherman Prize Emerging Leader Prize recipient.
  • Stephen Hanauer, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.
  • James Lewis, University of Pennsylvania, 2016 Sherman Prize recipient.
  • Uma Mahadevan, University of California San Francisco, 2022 Sherman Prize recipient.

Bruce Sherman said, “Since we launched the Sherman Prize in 2016, my wife Cynthia and I have been proud to honor the visionaries who share a deep commitment to addressing the unmet challenges of Crohn’s and colitis and lead the scientific research that not only improves the quality of life for people with IBD today but lays the foundation for greater discoveries in the future. We hope that by rewarding these achievements, the Sherman Prize may inspire excellence in others.”

Nominations may be submitted at through May 24. The 2024 Prize recipients will be announced in the Fall and honored at the Prize presentations during the Advances in IBD (AIBD) conference in Orlando, Florida, on December 10.

About the Sherman Prize

In 2016, Bruce and Cynthia Sherman established the Sherman Prize to provide national recognition and financial prizes to pioneering IBD professionals who exemplify excellence in Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Since its inception, the Sherman Prize has honored 24 IBD practitioners from diverse specialties.

Two $100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded annually to IBD clinicians, surgeons, researchers, and/or academics, recognizing exceptional and pioneering contributions that transform the care of people with IBD. Sherman Prize recipients are accomplished experts changing the paradigm in IBD and inspiring future innovators through their achievements.

A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an IBD clinician, surgeon, researcher, academic, or physician assistant, who, while early in his or her career, has contributed to an advancement and shows great promise for significant future contributions.

Selection decisions are made by the Board of Directors, following an extensive review and evaluation by the Prize Selection Committee, which is comprised of five of the nation’s preeminent IBD specialists.

For eligibility guidelines and to nominate an individual doing exceptional work on behalf of people with IBD, please visit


Contact: Maria Fletcher,