March 13, 2023

Accepting Nominations for the 2023 Sherman Prizes

Recognizing Extraordinary Achievements in IBD

BOCA RATON, Florida, March 13, 2023 – Today, The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation announced that nominations are open for the 2023 Sherman Prizes, recognizing exceptional individuals dedicated to improving outcomes for people with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, also known as the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD).

To date, the Sherman Prize has honored 21 extraordinary IBD professionals, representing diverse specialties, who are advancing patient care, medical research, and public service, and who embody ‘Excellence of Crohn’s and colitis’.

“Since we launched the Sherman Prize in 2016, my wife Cynthia and I have had the opportunity to recognize the achievements of extraordinarily talented and caring individuals who are improving the lives of people living with Crohn’s and colitis,” said Bruce Sherman. “We are extremely grateful to all those who submit a nomination and bring outstanding contributions to our attention, and we look forward to learning about this year’s nominees and their work on the forefront of IBD science and care.”

This year, the Sherman Prize Selection Committee, helmed by the Chair, Dr. Maria T. Abreu, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine and 2019 Sherman Prize recipient, consists of: Dr. Jessica Allegretti, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, 2020 Sherman Prize Emerging Leader Prize recipient; Dr. Stephen Hanauer, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine; Dr James Lewis, University of Pennsylvania, 2016 Sherman Prize recipient; and Dr. Sarah Street, Stanford University.

“The Sherman Prize recognizes and honors outstanding leaders who have pushed the boundaries of treatment and care in the field of IBD. The extraordinary individuals that have been recognized inspire the community of IBD physicians, investigators, and patients,” said Dr. Abreu. “We hope our colleagues take the time to nominate an exceptional mentor, mentee or associate for the 2023 Sherman Prizes.”

Nominations may be submitted at through May 21. The 2023 Prize recipients will be announced in the Fall and honored at the Prize presentations during the Advances in IBD (AIBD) conference in Orlando, Florida, on December 15.


About the Sherman Prize

In 2016, Bruce and Cynthia Sherman established the Sherman Prize to provide national recognition and financial prizes to pioneering IBD professionals who exemplify excellence in Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Since its inception, the Sherman Prize has honored 18 IBD practitioners from diverse specialties.

Two $100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded annually to IBD clinicians, surgeons, researchers and/or academics, recognizing exceptional and pioneering contributions that transform the care of people with IBD. Sherman Prize recipients are accomplished experts changing the paradigm in IBD and inspiring future innovators through their achievements.

A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an IBD clinician, surgeon, researcher, academic, physician assistant, or nursing professional who, while early in his or her career, has contributed to an advancement and shows great promise for significant future contributions.

Selection decisions are made by the Board of Directors, following an extensive review and evaluation by the Prize Selection Committee, which is comprised of five of the nation’s preeminent IBD specialists.

For eligibility guidelines and to nominate an individual doing exceptional work on behalf of people with IBD, please visit


Contact: Maria Fletcher,