April 25, 2023

Dr. Maria Abreu to Chair Sherman Prize 2023 Selection Committee

Maria T. Abreu, M.D., director of UHealth – University of Miami Health System’s Crohn’s and Colitis Center and professor of medicine and microbiology and immunology at University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, will once again chair the Sherman Prize Selection Committee.

The committee, which will recommend the 2023 Sherman Prize winners, comprises five of the nation’s preeminent researchers, clinicians, health care providers and scholars in Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, known collectively as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).

Each year, three individuals who have made outstanding achievements in the fight against IBD are chosen for recognition by the Sherman Prize Board of Directors, which is guided by the selection committee. The prizes come with financial awards and communications that showcase the recipients’ work among colleagues and the greater IBD community.

Read more…