November 09, 2020

IBD Charitable Foundation Announces 2020 Sherman Prize Winners

Two college professors — one from the University of Pennsylvania and the other from University of Chicago Medicine  — have been named the winners of the 2020 Sherman Prizes, which total $100,000 each. In another honor, the director of the Fecal Microbiota Transplant Program at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston is this year’s recipient of the Sherman Emerging Leader Prize, worth $25,000. The scientists are being recognized by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, which created the Sherman Prize in 2016 to distinguish those who advance the medical care of people with inflammatory bowel disease (IBD). Since the award’s inception, two Sherman Prizes have been given every year to two awardees in recognition of their pioneering contributions in the fields of ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease. Meanwhile, a single Sherman Emerging Leader Prize also has been given each year to an early career investigator who shows great potential for groundbreaking future contributions to the field.

Read more…