July 20, 2017

Sherman Prize Honors Researchers for Their Work in Crohn’s, UC

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced the 2017 recipients of the Sherman Prize for their research in the treatment of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

The honorees include Stephan R. Targan, MD, director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars-Sinai; Lee A. Denson, MD, director of the Schubert-Martin IBD Center at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center; and Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C, from the Community Physician Group at Community Medical Center in Missoula, Montana.

Targan and Denson each received $100,000 for creating innovative care models that have helped improve the health of people with inflammatory bowel disease, while Drescher received $25,000 for ensuring rural, vulnerable patients benefit from the best practices in IBD care.

Read More