September 25, 2019

Sherman Prize names 2019 winners — 3 insights

Written by Eric Oliver | September 25, 2019

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation named its 2019 Sherman Prize honorees, recognizing individuals working to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. What you should know:

1. The 2019 honorees are:

  • Maria Abreu, MD, the director of the Crohn’s and Colitis Center at the University of Miami Health System
  • William Sandborn, MD, chief of gastroenterology and director of the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center at UC San Diego Health
  • Florian Rieder, MD, an assistant professor of inflammation and immunity at Cleveland Clinic

2. Drs. Abreu and Sandborn each received the $100,000 Sherman Prize, while Dr. Rieder received the $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize.

3. This is the fourth time the Sherman Charitable Foundation has recognized individuals for their efforts in the fight against inflammatory bowel diseases.

Read more …