March 30, 2022

Sherman Prize Now Accepting 2022 Nominations

Dr. Maria T. Abreu is Named New Selection Committee Chair

BOCA RATON, Florida, March 31, 2022 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation today announced that 2022 nominations are open for the Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis. The Sherman Prizes recognize outstanding contributions by IBD professionals who are advancing patient care, medical research, and public service in the field of Crohn’s and colitis, also known as the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD).

“Every year, my wife, Cynthia, and I are humbled and inspired by the incredible accomplishments of the IBD practitioners who are tireless in their commitment to transform IBD care and improve outcomes for people living with Crohn’s and colitis”, said Bruce Sherman. “By continuing to acknowledge and reward the efforts of these exceptional individuals, we hope others are motivated to excel.”

This year’s nominees will be reviewed by a new Sherman Prize Selection Committee, with Dr. Maria T. Abreu, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine; Director of the Crohn’s & Colitis Center at the University of Miami Health System; and 2019 Sherman Prize recipient, succeeding Dr. Dermot P.B. McGovern as Committee Chair. Serving alongside Dr. Maria Abreu are Dr. Lee Denson, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center; Dr James Lewis, University of Pennsylvania; Dr. Amy Lightner, Cleveland Clinic; and Dr. Sarah Street, Stanford University.

“The Sherman Prize is the highest recognition of the talent and achievements in our field of IBD,” said Dr. Abreu. “We ask members of our IBD community to submit nominations to recognize the exemplary individuals propelling our field forward. The application process has been streamlined to make it easier to nominate and re-nominate.”

Nominations for the 2022 Prizes may be submitted at through June 8. The winners will be announced in the Fall and honored at the Prize presentations during the Advances in IBD (AIBD) conference in Orlando, Florida in December.

About the Sherman Prize

In 2016, Bruce and Cynthia Sherman established the Sherman Prize to provide national recognition and financial prizes to pioneering IBD professionals who exemplify excellence in Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Since its inception, the Sherman Prize has honored 18 IBD practitioners from diverse specialties.

Two $100,000 Sherman Prizes are awarded annually to IBD clinicians, surgeons, researchers and/or academics, recognizing exceptional and pioneering contributions that transform the care of people with IBD. Sherman Prize recipients are accomplished experts changing the paradigm in IBD and inspiring future innovators through their achievements.

A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an IBD clinician, surgeon, researcher, academic, physician assistant, nursing professional, or public health advocate who, while early in his or her career, has contributed to an advancement and shows great promise for significant future contributions.

Selection decisions are made by the Board of Directors, following an extensive review and evaluation by the Prize Selection Committee, which is comprised of five of the nation’s preeminent IBD specialists.

For eligibility guidelines and to nominate an individual doing exceptional work on behalf of people with IBD, please visit


Contact: Maria Fletcher,