April 05, 2021

Sherman Prize, Now Accepting Nominations for 2021

Honoring Exceptional Achievements in the Fight to Overcome Crohn’s and Colitis

BOCA RATON, Florida, April 5, 2021 – The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation today announced that nominations are being accepted for the 2021 Sherman Prizes, which recognize and reward innovative and pioneering IBD professionals who exemplify excellence in Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, also known as the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBDs).

“Over the past year, the IBD community has been tested like never before, and it’s been inspiring to see healthcare providers persevere to advance patient care in the face of adversity and untold challenges,” said Bruce and Cynthia Sherman, the Founders of the Sherman Prize. “The Sherman Prize was designed to honor this type of indomitable spirit, recognizing IBD professionals’ outstanding achievements, and we look forward to seeing this year’s nominations.”

Since 2016, the Sherman Prize has honored 15 individuals who go above and beyond to make exceptional contributions in the fight to overcome IBD, advancing patient care, medical research, and public service and education. Previous recipients of the Sherman Prize and Sherman Emerging Leader Prize include physician scientists, a pediatric IBD specialist, a colorectal surgeon, a psychiatrist specializing in IBD, a molecular biologist, and a physician assistant. To learn more about the unique ways they are improving IBD care, watch their short tribute films at ShermanPrize.org.

“The Sherman Prize is probably the most prestigious award that a member of the IBD community can receive,” said Dr. Dermot P.B. McGovern, the Joshua L. and Lisa Z. Greer Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetics at Cedars-Sinai and 2021 Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair. “There are IBD heroes out there who are going the extra mile and undoubtedly some of them are flying under the radar. The Sherman Prizes provide unique opportunities to bring awareness to their stories and to acknowledge their efforts in front of their peers, and in so doing, inspire excellence among others striving to improve the lives of people suffering with these diseases.”

Nominations for the 2021 Prizes may be submitted at ShermanPrize.org through June 13. The Prizes will be presented in December during the Advances in IBD (AIBD) conference in Orlando, Florida.

About the Sherman Prize
Every year, two Sherman Prizes of $100,00 each are awarded to IBD clinicians, surgeons, researchers and/or academics, with extraordinary track records of achievement in transforming IBD care. Sherman Prize recipients are accomplished experts changing the paradigm in IBD through their achievements.

A $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize is awarded to an IBD clinician, surgeon, researcher, academic, physician assistant, nursing professional, or public health advocate who, while early in his or her career, has contributed to an advancement in his or her discipline and shows great promise for significant future contributions.

Selection decisions are made by the Board of Directors, following an extensive review and evaluation by the Prize Selection Committee, which is comprised of five of the nation’s preeminent IBD specialists. Serving alongside Dr. Dermot McGovern are Dr. Maria Abreu, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine; Dr. Lee Denson, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center; Dr. Mark Gerich, University of Colorado Crohn’s and Colitis Center; and Dr. Amy Lightner, Cleveland Clinic.

For eligibility guidelines and to nominate an individual doing exceptional work on behalf of people with IBD, please visit ShermanPrize.org.

Media Contact: Maria Fletcher, maria@shermanprize.org