September 21, 2016

Sherman Prize Winners Include IBD Pioneers From Pitt, Penn, NYU

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced the winners of its inaugural Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis, acknowledging their achievements in advancing patient care, medical research and public service in inflammatory bowel disease.

The winners include Eva Szigethy, MD, PhD, co-director of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Total Care-IBD Program and associate professor of psychiatry, medicine and pediatrics in the department of psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; James D. Lewis, MD, MSCE, professor of medicine and epidemiology and associate director of the IBD Program at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine; and Lea Ann Chen, MD, assistant professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine and attending physician at NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue.

Read More